• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Am I deaf??? Troubleshooting deep/distant sound

supernova

Hi everyone.
I'm new to hifi stereo ( hd598 + dragonfly red doesn't count IMHO ).
Recently bought drop hd6xx and drop thx one without balanced inputs and a custom DAC based on es9038q2m chip. Using my Mac as a source and Apple Music service.
When I first heard my hd598 + dragonfly I was so amazed that some songs made me crying what never happened before.
But now I am not satisfied with what I hear. It is like the sound in this system is very deep or distant. I feel like there is something between the speaker and my ear.
I always have irresistible desire to add some volume to overcome this deep or distant sound but I can't listen long enough with such a volume.
Slow compositions like so of Olafar are pretty ok but something fast - those that are the worst.
Is there something wrong with my set up? Is there a way to troubleshoot it?
I can listen to this and feel happy but I have every time a feeling that something is missing.

jae

Major Contributor
Get a hearing threshold test / audiogram from an audiologist if you're able. Also learn how to EQ your current headphones and see if you get any improvement (https://github.com/jaakkopasanen/AutoEq/ is a good place to start, find the settings for your headphones). It could very well be that you're just used the the sound of your headphones, fatigued etc.

Last edited:
Reactions: eas

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
There could be something wrong or maybe you're just bored with the sound. Our brains adapt pretty quickly.