• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

ASR Open Source Streamer Project

notabenem

Hmm...multiple wireless endpoints in tight time sync. Can we do that?
Surely not through TCP, but I think it would be doable with UDP transport with some resilience - if needed at all. Frankly I have little to zero experience with audio streaming (and I would welcome in-depth guidance) but I do have a very specific idea from a technical standpoint (transport layer).
NTP is able to provide sub ms time-sync on a local network. Maybe we can do even better on our own, but my guess is 1ms of delay will not be audible between speakers. Will it? The bad thing is this will depend on the WIFI networks' performance. But I can't tell how much without having a PoC and having it measured. My guess is that none of the fancy stuff would be needed (like those showcased in RoC for example), but I may be wrong here.

Having said all this, I think we should start small, and add features later.

somebodyelse

Major Contributor
OtterCast looks like it's doing its audio send/receive via pulseaudio remote streams and/or via snapcast. It's a shame they haven't included any digital inputs or outputs.

StefaanE

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Surely not through TCP, but I think it would be doable with UDP transport with some resilience - if needed at all. Frankly I have little to zero experience with audio streaming (and I would welcome in-depth guidance) but I do have a very specific idea from a technical standpoint (transport layer).