• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Remastering (Improving) your own Audio Albums as Big F.Y. to corporate Loudness War trend.

LF78

That isn't clipping. That is very hard limiting.

I'm not a mastering expert so I cannot reply with any insightful and detailed argument, but it really seems digital clipping to me. And unfortunately that album doesn't sound good too.

digicidal

Major Contributor
And unfortunately that album doesn't sound good too.

Of course not, Hillel isn't on it... and if he's not on it - then it's crap IMO. Doesn't matter if the whole thing is smashed against the bumpstocks or has a DR of 70. :cool:

Not sure that is an issue in any way, as modern decent-bitrate lossy codecs are more than good enough for their use. Remember that people listen to vinyl and FM radio too...

Naturally, my point was simply that most people don't even care about file compression that definitely audibly degrades a recording (depending on bitrate of course) - so they're certainly not going to worry about signal compression that makes it sound better (or at least that's what most engineers of popular recordings seem to think). If half of their song is too quiet to hear on the bus or in the car - they definitely will care more about that than a few digital artifacts or a slight loss of fidelity.

Last edited:

audimus

If half of their song is too quiet to hear on the bus or in the car - they definitely will care more about that than a few digital artifacts or a slight loss of fidelity.

That is a key insight being missed on this thread.