• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What stuff do I need to add to my order? (complete beginner)

notsodeadlizard

It's up to you of course, but why do you need studio monitors (that are designed for professional work) in order to listen to music?
Why do you need balanced inputs and outputs, why do you lack the usual single-end?
Why do you immediately start with a system with a subwoofer, which is generally better not to have for listening to music?
Do you have a huge studio and very long cables?
Why so difficult?

OP
M

mubix77

It's up to you of course, but why do you need studio monitors (that are designed for professional work) in order to listen to music?
Why do you need balanced inputs and outputs, why do you lack the usual single-end?
Why do you immediately start with a system with a subwoofer, which is generally better not to have for listening to music?
Why so difficult?
What would your ideal desktop setup be for listening (under 4k€ - ideally about 3k€)?

I don't have a huge studio, instead I have a very small office where I'm going to put the speakers next to the wall, next to my monitor.

Last edited:

Trell

Major Contributor
Why so difficult?
Such a desktop 2.1 setup works and sounds great. He’ll even have room EQ that after calibration is stored in the monitors/subwoofer and then just works with no hassle.

Quite a few members on this forum use monitors for desktop setup.

notsodeadlizard

What would your ideal desktop setup be for listening (under 4k€ - ideally about 3k€)?
What I can say is that nothing is perfect or ideal.

To enjoy listening to music from exclusively digital sources in your budget, it is enough: