• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Genelec 8020D for MacBook M1 USB-C?

lex-ko

Hi everyone. I'm a total noob, I have done some reading on this subject but hesitate to make the decision myself because I simply feel like I don't know enough.

I have an opportunity to buy a pair of Genelec 8020D for $500, which to me seems like a good price(?), used but perfect working/cosmetic condition. I feel like that price gives me enough room so if I don't like them I can just sell them without a huge loss.

I'm looking for a way to connect these to the usb-c port on my MacBook in a way that won't negatively impact the performance of the speakers. I've been advised to use an audio interface so connect the macbook to the interface via usb and then use two 1/4" TRS to XLR cables to connect the speakers. I've been recommended these interfaces motu 2, volt 2, scarlet 2i2, I feel like these are "too much" for my simple needs as I'm not a musician/singer/mixer/dj even on a hobbyist level so I won't be recording anything.

I need help deciding what to do. Thanks in advance.

staticV3

Master Contributor
The least expensive Desktop DACs with differential Line out are the Topping D10 Balanced or SMSL M300 SE.

These have fully transparent output, so cannot possibly bottleneck your Genelecs.

Besides that, you may be able to use a Dongle DAC with 4.4mm Pentaconn output instead.
Examples are the Moondrop Dawn 4.4, Moondrop Dawn Pro, Truthear Shio.

These have identical output quality and output power as desktop DACs and you can connect them to the Genelecs with a 4.4mm to 2x XLR cable.

The only "gotcha" is that to safely use these dongles as Line out devices, the Pentaconn's Ground pin must be properly connected to USB Ground.