• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping E50 Review (Balanced DAC)

ozlegend

Audio Company
I bought a Topping E50 in this New Year sales after reading a review by a recording engineer whose views I tend to trust and then armirn’s excellent measurements on this forum. I would like to describe my subjective findings under 2 main areas:
1. how it compared to my previous Chord Qutest DAC (bettered)
2. the effected of a linear power supply (useful improvement)

(Please note that these observations are “in my humble opinion” but if you want double-blind listening tests please read no further. I am a physicist by training and have been designing & manufacturing loudspeakers for many years using both extensive measurements and listening to a wide range of music. My aim is try to achieve “like being there” at a live event and regularly attend unamplified concerts).

My previous Chord Qutest DAC was purchased (at a good price) in early 2019 also after I had read favourable reviews from people whose ears I tend to trust plus the measurements of amirn who rated it as the best at that time. At that time I thought the biggest change (from my previous Pro-ject S2 DAC) was greater ‘texture’ in the music - as though harmonic structure of the notes were more clearly defined and integrated but possibly due to the notes starting and stopping more quickly. There was also better stereo imaging, particularly depth, which is usually another sign of good micro-timing – something that Rob Watts focuses on in his FPGA chip designs for Chord.