• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping A30Pro Review (Balanced Headphone Amp)

haris525

Hi I just bought this amplifier, but can someone post inside pictures of it? I am very interested to see what it looks like. Cant wait to try it.

Leiker535

Apologies for spouting incorrect info. I'm new to the factual , science aspect of audio and I always heard high impedance means harder to drive
It usually is. Higher impedance means the amp will have to give out more voltage to get the same volume as a lower impedance headphone, but, inversely, it will need less current as well (depending on efficiency), and heat builds more to higher current than to higher voltage/resistance AFAIK (Q = i².R.t).

However I don't think that this type of joule effect study is relevant when comparing headphones on the same amp, rather, how hot it gets is much more related to the internal design and general functioning (i.e, a30 pro is a hot amp).

AlexTSG

Hi I just bought this amplifier, but can someone post inside pictures of it? I am very interested to see what it looks like. Cant wait to try it.

I haven't seen the internals (except through the ventilation holes).

If I remember correctly the manual says something like "The warranty will be voided instantly if the unit is opened".

I'm happy to post photos or video of the exterior if there's anything in particular that you haven't found images of online.

AlexTSG

11W of power out of that tiny box.. one can expect things to heat up ;)

My Hifiman Edition XS arrived last Friday and recommended 150 hours of "burn in". They have 18 ohms of impedance and a sensitivity of 92dB.