• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Which target should I use when choosing studio/stage IEM?

June Koong

Lately I've been searching for IEMs to use in my studio and as my live in-ear-monitor. (I'm a student studying music, and currently play the guitar at church)

I'm looking for an IEM on the crinacle IEM list for an IEM which I can trust that it's neutural and uncolored and flat so I can make decisions based on it, but I'm having trouble which targeted IEM I shoud look up

There's this guy who goes by the name "oratory1990" saying that the harman target is what I need, but isn't harman target just a preference target?

Also, as far as I understand, tuning a room is as important as the speaker itself, right? And tuning the room means that there are no frequencies which are boosted or cut out, right? So should I use the free field target?

I'm so confused. Please help

Last edited:

JustAnandaDourEyedDude

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Lately I've been searching for IEMs to use in my studio and as my live in-ear-monitor. (I'm a student studying music, and currently play the guitar at church)

I'm looking for an IEM on the crinacle IEM list for an IEM which I can trust that it's neutural and uncolored and flat so I can make decisions based on it, but I'm having trouble which targeted IEM I shoud look up

There's this guy who goes by the name "oratory1990" saying that the harman target is what I need, but isn't harman target just a preference target?

Also, as far as I understand, tuning a room is as important as the speaker itself, right? And tuning the room means that there are no frequencies which are boosted or cut out, right? So should I use the free field target?