• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What's the best version of fleetwood macs rumours album?

Thomas savage

Grand Contributor
The Watchman
Forum Donor
hi,

I have a recent remaster but the vocal is gutless and thin, half the album sounds crap but the other half is ok'ish.

I don't like the eq either , they have done weird things to the top end.

What's the best cd version to get?

Strangely the extra disc with a live performance and another with studio rarities are ok.

RayDunzl

Grand Contributor
Central Scrutinizer
I have:

Fleetwood Mac Rumours
Warner Bros 3012-2
sku 7559-27313-2 4

Maybe this one: http://dr.loudness-war.info/album/view/3936

Out of: http://dr.loudness-war.info/album/list?artist=fleetwood+mac&album=rumours

So I put it on, since I haven't listened to it in this rotation, and it sounds fine to me.

Looking at the listings, I did ok...

Looking at the frequency response and levels, it's not too hot, it's not severely rolled off in the bass, it has less than "natural" roll off in the treble, so that might offend some ears.

Here's the left and right peak RTA coming off the CD player for the first tune, Second Hand News:

upload_2016-7-2_16-42-46.png

Last edited:

RayDunzl

Grand Contributor
Central Scrutinizer

ceedee

I think the Sanyo Japan edition is the best, but I've tweaked it with some EQ and brought the levels up with some normalization. That CD does sound a lot like the original LP — and I think both could be improved.