• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What’s a pre tuner

Patience needed : I’m a newbie to all this home cinema technology. I’ve acquired an unused pre-tuner Marantz AV8003 which supports everything right up to just before Dolby atmos. It’s a serious piece of equipment which still retail’s some places at £2,500. I have never heard of a pre-tuner or pre-amp before. I was wondering if I could combine it with an Onkyo Tx Nr686 which does support Dolby atmos and still receive the Atmos? Or if there’s any other way I could use the Marantz to receive Dolby atmos? Any advice would be greatly appreciated but please be gentle with all the technical jargon. Thanks guys.

Last edited:

staticV3

Master Contributor
I can't find anything when searching for "Marantz AV8303" or "Marantz 8303". Are you sure that's the right brand and model number?

BDWoody

Chief Cat Herder
Forum Donor
Welcome!

If you take the amplification out of an Audio Video Receiver (AVR) it becomes an Audio Video Processor, or Preamp Processor meant to feed amplifiers that then go to speakers.

This has 7.1 output (XLR option which is nice), which would then plug into either powered speakers directly, or into amplifier inputs that go to the speakers.

Your Onkyo doesn't have 7.1 analog inputs, so I don't really see a way to connect the two.

Apesbrain

Addicted to Fun and Learning
The Marantz AV8003 is a "pre-tuner" which means that it needs an external power amp(s) with sufficient channels to drive all of your speakers. If Atmos, that's at least 7 channels. Do you have such an amp?