• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Upgrading from UMC202HD, worth it?

jjbug

I've been using my Behringer UMC202HD for 2 years now. Lately I have been wondering about upgrading it for something in the 200-400€ range. My main concern is a good quality DI input and I'm wondering if there is a significant increase in recording quality between various DI or is it just the logo we're paying for.

Anyway, I've been looking at the SSL2, ID14/22 and the AXE I/O (which is quite hard to get). The reviews are great for all those interfaces, obviously. Is there anything to be gained "tone wise"? I don't feel like I'm missing out, but I'm just wondering. I do all my daily playing through studio monitors or cans as I live in an apartment.

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
Is there anything to be gained "tone wise"?
Normally, no... But a quick search indicates that the 3 units you listed have switches or options to emulate/simulate analog equipment. The AXE I/O is intended for guitar so I'd expect "strong" effects. The other two are likely to be subtle.

I think there are other guitar interfaces that can simulate an amp & cabinet and there are software "sims". A guitar amp is not supposed to be high fidelity.... It's supposed to be "part of the instrument" and add "character" or "tone" and as you probably know, they all sound different and different guitar players have different favorites.

OP
J

jjbug

To be honest, I'm really not interested in those "4K" modes and the various options on the AXE I/O. I believe, that the DI should be as clean and transparent as possible. So the chance is, that it's just in my head and I should keep using my Behringer until it starts to malfunction :)