• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping dx5 failed "CPLD update" loop brickwall potential fix.

Mickeygallo

Better late than never I guess but after ar least a moth of trouble free operation, and having to buy another DAC out of complete panic and disarray, I just had to share this... This could help
others. Anyway, I had the same problem. I am an electrician with training in electronics as well. I succeeded in fixing mine by unplugging and isolating (making sure the ribbon contacts don't touch anything the're not supposed to) the front display from the main board inside the unit (carefull it's a usual ribbon cable with not much play) and then plugging it into my compuyer with all the Topping upgrade steps and it worked. After the upgrade is done, turn off the unit, unplug it from the computer and from the 120v outlet and reattach the ribbon cable. Turn on and enjoy ! I believe it's a frequent routine problem and Topping still wanted me to send them the unit for diagnostic. Not good enough for me.

Last edited:

Salt

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
What problem for which gear exactly is to be solved by this?
Curious.

Berwhale

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
You plugged the display into your computer or the DX5 with the display removed?

Ah, you've posted this twice...

OP
M

Mickeygallo

You do the upgrade following exactly what the manufacturer recommends, but with the display ribbon connector removed and isolated. After the upgrade is done, turn off the unit, unplug it from the computer and from the 120v outlet and reattach the ribbon cable. Turn on and enjoy ! Thats it!

Last edited:

Salt

Forum Donor
What gear exactly in discussion?

George Andrews