• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Source: Streaming Services - Detailed Measurement Review

nawfal07

Hi @amirm / Reviewers / Everyone,

Hopefully this thread is worth having, if not I fully understand and it can be deleted.

I'm wondering, besides from a blind test, can audio sources i.e. streaming services (Tidal, Apple Music, Qobuz, Amazon Music, Spotify, etc or even radio apps like TuneIn, etc) be scientifically measured for their sound quality?

Even though I am a scientist but I'm from a different field, and home theatre/audio is a very serious hobby of mine, I would rather have the experts in this field do the tests. All the usual test if possible (I have no idea if it's even valid for discussion), or maybe a null test, or anything you can think of.

Using the same audio setup and tracks as reference for each streaming service. It can be one service provider in one review, and then the other a few weeks later, and a final review of a comparison tests (null test, etc).

I know @amirm and other reviewers are very busy, this is not a request but a thought/suggestion and only if you're free and really feel like doing it. And of course if it's possible and making sense that is.

If it's not possible, then I'm hoping this thread can be a discussion on ideas on how to scientifically measure the sound quality of the audio sources instead of just audio equipment, or if it's a waste of time then why.

Apologies if this thinking is not sciencey. Be gentle!

Cheers.
Iswardi

A little bit of my backstory, although this thread should not be about my personal reason but about how we can expand the scientific measurements to source audio.

I have subscriptions to both Apple Music and Tidal.