• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Search for new monitors in small home studio - tried KRK G4 RP5 and Kali IN_5 but not there yet

EasyC

Forum Donor
Hi,
I've been reading a lot on ASR, learning, not understanding everything (my experience is in lighting) but I have some technical background and have had a lot of conversations with (live) sound guys. I (try to) make music with Logic and really like having good stereo sound at my desk.

Started out with KRK RP G4 2-3 years ago, which I'm in the proces of upgrading. They sound quite ok, but I think I could get better... They measured quite well here on ASR though.

So, first I bought a sub - TS107 from Eve. It's very good with the KRK's. Lots of adjustable settings for filtering. Whole set sounds pretty good with Sonarworks applied. But maybe not the best way to do it - better to first get the speakers and then search for a sub that fits the system I guess... The TS107 is really nice, but I had already 2 or 3 times I didn't get any sound from them. Had to power cycle which solved it. So now I lost confidence in the brand, having also read some disturbing posts about failing Eve units on gear space. The SC205's where on my shortlist so that's a shame..

Anyway, this (one of the better) measurements I got from the KRK's with the 107 at 120Hz in my small (3.5x3.6m) room:

Sub R 120.png

It has been treated a bit and there's some furniture in there, and has a sloping roof on one side, so it's not symmetrical. Between 120-180 there's a room mode I think, ceiling- desk I guess?

I got the Kali IN-5 as a replacement. Been eying the 8030's, but the price and raving reviews of the Kali made me try them first.