• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie looking for setup advice

Hello everyone total newbie here have no idea what im doing, hopefully ive come to the right place for some advice.

Looking to improve the sound quality on my pc which i use to watch movies, play games and listen to music.

I purchased one of the best sound cards for my pc.

image.jpg

I have also purchased:
  • Q Acoustics 3020 Bookshelf Speakers
  • Fosi Audio V3 Stereo Amplifier
Now my question to you guys is how do i set this up correctly and what cables do i need to purchase?

Also can someone recommend a subwoofer for around $250 max to go along with my setup.

Thanks all

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
In case you are interested the EVGA Nu Audio and the Pro models have both been tested here at ASR.

OP
D
In case you are interested the EVGA Nu Audio and the Pro models have both been tested here at ASR.
You didnt read my post...I already purchased the EVGA soundcard.

Tom C

Major Contributor
You’ve got line level out with RCA connectors. So, you’ll need two cables, one for left and one for right, both with RCA on the ends that go to the sound card.
‘On the other end of the cable, you’ll need either a power amp, which you will then connect to your speakers, or you will need powered speakers that have the amps built into them. A lot of power amps have RCA input connectors, but not all. Some have XLR instead. A few have both. If you go with powered speakers, you might have RCA inputs, or XLR, or another type usually referred to as TS or 1/4” phono. If not RCA, you will need an adapter of some kind, or a cable that has the connectors you need already installed on each end.

OP
D