• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie looking for his first pair of monitor

Which pair of speaker should I buy?

• Adam T5v 298€

Votes: 3 13.0%
  • Audioengine A5+ (non wireless) 279€

Votes: 1 4.3%
  • KRK Rokit RP5 G4 298€

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Any other (below 400€)

Votes: 2 8.7%
  • Thomman Swissonic A305 (222€)

Votes: 1 4.3%
  • Thomman Swissonic A306 B-Stock (264€)

Votes: 5 21.7%
  • Kali LP 6 V2 (398€)

Votes: 11 47.8%

• Total voters

PaoloM

Hi everyone, I'm looking to buy my first pair of "hi-fi" monitor speakers.
I would use them in a desktop setup connected to my pc (mini jack), my room is pretty small: 12 sqare metres (I'm a student).
I mostly listen to pop, rock, electronic but also classic and jazz at times.
I narrowed down my research to these speakers after reading every kind of review online (especially from Amirm) but if you think i missed any monitor I should consider, I will be happy to take your advice :D
One thing to note is that I'm nowhere close to have 60cm from the wall behind the monitors due to my small bedroom, so I was considering lowering low frequencies with APO by 2-3 db and pushing them towards the back wall, what do you think?
If I forgot to mention any useful information, please tell me

Count Arthur

Major Contributor
If you're in Europe, these might be worth adding to your list:

Most active monitors have some switches that will allow you to adjust the bass and treble if placing them near the wall; which may be sufficient without using APO, but to really dial them in, you'll probably need to measure.

Triliza

Forum Donor
Hi. Although the prices are for the US, have a look at @sweetchaos list for active ones.