• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie Bit Perfect Windows 10 Topping E30

BlueMarblePA

Sorry for this elementary question as I am a beginner. For Christmas I bought myself a Topping E30 and Asgard 3 headphone amp Grado SR80e. I am confused on how to get bit perfect output from my Windows 10.

It seems that through advanced properties in Windows 10, I can select specific bit rates and this is exactly what is sent to the Topping E30 (DAC mode) regardless of input source. I have tried Foobar and tried MQA, DSD, FLAC files and regardless of file type 44.1, 44.8, hires, etc, it just reads what I set the Windows setting at. Is there a way to send it in the native format without having to anticipate the file and then set it manually? WASAPI? Not sure.

Patrick1958

Forum Donor
Wasapi and/or ASIO being the keyword here.
Set the sound manager in windows for exclusive use.
In any music-player you use set output to Wasapi or ASIO.

Thalis

in Foobar2000 install the WASAPI component then in the Windows setting check Allow Exclusive Mode. You mentioned MQA so I assume you have the Tidal app... you can also output Exclusive Mode in the Tidal settings.

OP
B

BlueMarblePA

Thank you for the amazing quick response. It is still weird. I allowed exclusive mode, and I installed Wasapi download. The E30 DAC mode still only reads the selected from the dropdown - 32 bit 96 kHz when I play music from foobar. I can see in the bottom left part of foobar the kHz of the selected playback and it does not seem to match. Sorry I am struggling here.
1608991177581.png
1608991134236.png
1608991177581.png
1608991134236.png

Jimbob54

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor