• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

New to audio...looking for a push in the right direction (regarding my setup)

mxw031

Hello, I am new on this forum and to audio equipment in general. I will try to be concise. I have done a bit of reading here and there and am working to familiarize myself with vocabulary and general concepts. As most reading this likely know it is a real rabbit hole.

I have always enjoyed going to live shows and appreciating a variety of music. I have seen a lot of live music shows hosting Funktion 1 sound systems that led me down a path of enjoying music and sound. Recently I bought my first home system. I am a novice and my equipment is limited but I am wanting to learn more and optimize it.

Currently I am running a pair of Canton Chrono 70 speakers which I purchased used. I am running them with a Denon AVR-590 receiver that someone gave to me a while ago. My room is somewhere between 250-300 square feet, have not measured it exactly. I primarily use wifi to play music from my phone through a Google Chromecast Audio connected through aux to my AVR. I am mostly interested in listening to music with my system but if eventually I can use it for movies too then that would be a welcome addition although not really a priority of mine. Eventually I intend to add a subwoofer as much of the music I listen to has complex bass that I enjoy. I have read about the SVS SB-1000 pro and think it would be good eventually for my budget and needs.