• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

New PC build for audio and video

Nakatomi

Hi guys, new member here. I need advice.
I am building a new pc for music and video editing. I'm a beginner and I'll use it for guitar recording and making rock music, so nothing too fancy. Drum track, bass, guitar and vocals. I also want to make simple videos for Youtube, like tutorials, videos for kids, etc.
My budget is app. 1300 to 1400euros, without peripherals.
My first doubt is should I go Intel or Amd? Which is better in this budget for audio and video editing?
I still don't now what audio interface should I buy, maybe Focusrite 2i2, Audient id4 or something similar in entry budget. For Daw I will probably use Cakewalk or Mixcraft. For video still not sure since I am a beginner.
Can you please suggest me a pc configuration for my needs?
Thanks!

Ron Texas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Video editing requires a very fast GPU with lots of memory. An extra $100 on the GPU will get you more than that spent on most other components. Get a Nvidia RTX 4060 or 4060 Ti at a minimum. Brand of CPU is not important although an AMD CPU and compatible motherboard might cost less than Intel at the same performance level. Davanci Resolve is a top rated free video editor.
Search for benchmarks.

https://benchmarks.pugetsystems.com...ark=davinci&application=&specs=#results-table

Count Arthur

Major Contributor
I would decide which video editing software you're going to use, then look for benchmarks, to see whether AMD or Intel work better at your budget.

Also how much RAM and the GPU influence the performance of your chosen video editing software, to decide how best to divide your budget between CPU, GPU and RAM.

DVDdoug