• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Looking for a decent entry DAC for desktop use

FroNt

Good evening,

i'm currently building a new PC and decided that since i listen to a lot of music i want actual quality audio, so i decided on a Mainboard with Toslink out.
Now i'm still looking for a DAC and headphones, might get the Sennheiser HD560s or one of the DT 9XX Pro line. But right now i'm looking for an answer for a DAC (and AMP combo if needed? i am new to this). I don't have a lot of techical knowledge yet so i was basing my research mostly on reviews.

The only criteria i have is Toslink input since i need it for my desktop PC. Budget for the DAC would be around 100€, i am from germany, so some US deals might not be available.
I do not necessarily need a seperate audio-in at the DAC, i can always just plug it directly into the PC, don't need that high quality input.
I listen to mostly athmospheric electronic stuff with both strong baselines and powerful highs if that matters.

I've been looking at the Fosi Audio K5 Pro, but was told that it has sloppy electronics. Would the DAC X6 MKII mini be a good choice? Or might my budget be to small for a decent DAC?

Thanks in advance,
greetings from germany

Dunring

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I agree the SMSL M300se is a good choice, but only the balanced side has decent power. It's easy to add a balanced amp later like the Sabaj A20h.
Of you can stretch the budget the SMSL DL200 is what I use for a dac and the amp on it has terrific power for most things.

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
i can always just plug it directly into the PC
I'd try that first.