• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need help identifying system weakness

Chainicin

I have a Cambridge Audio CXA61 connected by optical USB to a desktop running plexamp. Speakers are a pair of Klipsch rp-600m and a svs sb2000 subwoofer.

High quality FLAC files pale in comparison to any vinyl I play on the CXA61. The CXA61 is supposed to have a great dac, but I'm no expert.

I really don't want to pay for roon. The price is outrageous.

I also have a Yamaha wxc50 I could put in there but want to keep the plexamp ui so not sure how that would help. I really hope to use plexamp so any recommendations on hardware are what I prefer.

Any help?

MaxwellsEq

Major Contributor
FLAC files pale in comparison to any vinyl
Hi and welcome.

It would help a lot if you were more specific about what "paling in comparison" means to you. For example, is there a frequency imbalance with FLAC? Is stereo imaging less stable? Is sound quieter?

It would also help if we knew more about your desktop. If it's Windows have you disabled all enhancements and are you using exclusive mode?

You could swap amplifiers as an experiment, so that would identify if the Cambridge is faulty.

voodooless

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
not sure how that would help
Help with what? What is the problem you have?

You may want to try EQ'ing the speakers:

1705484208094.png

Last edited:

Galliardist

Major Contributor
We can still take a guess though. Guess what? We have measurements courtesy of our host, and a headless panther for the speakers:

At a guess your vinyl setup is reducing the high frequency boost which will make things a lot better. Add some bias on your part in favour of vinyl, conscious or otherwise, and it's going to sound better.