• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need Advice on Room Treatment

Darra Pharma

Hello All and Happy New Year,

The first attachment shows a diagram of my listening room. I know, other more traditional speaker and listener locations would be better, but this is also a family living room, and this just works best for us. The speakers are Magnepan 3.7i’s, with tweeters on the outside. I have been tweaking this arrangement for a few years now, moving speakers a foot or two in various directions, and adjusting toe-in. This arrangement provides pretty good sound, except, on most recordings, the stereo image seems to pull to the right. The second attachment shows the room’s response as measured with a calibrated mic and REW (Each trace representing the average of 9 measurements around a 28-inch diameter circle centered on the head of a seated listener). I noted the approximate 5dB difference in bass response between the left and right channels, and I am wondering if this might be causing the rightward pulling of the stereo image? If so, would putting a bass trap in the corner behind the right speaker improve the situation?

Thanks for any comments.
Darra

Attachments

• Room.jpg
    Room.jpg
    94.1 KB · Views: 172
  • Room Response.jpg
    Room Response.jpg
    170.3 KB · Views: 174

Ogoript

Forum Donor
My guess is the stereo image is partially related to the first reflection. The wide open space to the left of the left speaker vs the right which has earlier reflection points. Are you able to move something to cover the left speaker early reflection (furniture, room divider etc) temporarily to test that theory?

OP
D

Darra Pharma