• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Macro photos of phono styli

ray_parkhurst

Hi...anyone here interested in discussing photography of phono styli? I've been doing this for several years and have developed some interesting lighting and framing techniques to evaluate stylus wear. I saw in another thread from a year ago where folks were saying that styli don't wear. They're made of diamond, you know. But I can say for sure that they do wear, and have taken hundreds of photos of the various types to evaluate the level of wear and to understand the impact on playback. Below are a few examples of the work I've been doing. Hoping folks have some interest and it can generate some discussion:

The very tip of a 2M Blue with heavy wear after ~500hrs
2MBlue12.JPG

A full stylus view of a NOS Sumiko Andante P76 showing its amazingly short and wide contact region
Sumiko Andante_2.JPG

A composite view of an Empire 480LT I used for a stylus wear test:
480LT Contact Projection_1.JPG

sam_adams

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Hi...anyone here interested in discussing photography of phono styli?

While I'm not an aficionado of vinyl, I would be interested in what equipment and techniques you use to make photographs of this nature. Please share.

OP
ray_parkhurst

ray_parkhurst

While I'm not an aficionado of vinyl, I would be interested in what equipment and techniques you use to make photographs of this nature. Please share.