• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

I have questions!

rfj1862

Hi all,

First post here although I have been reading with great interest. I'm not a complete newbie but I go through cycles of audiophilia every 5 years or so, so just enough time for me to lose all of my audio knowledge.

I listen to music 10 hours a day, primarily on my desktop system, which is far fancier than my audio equipment elsewhere in the house because it is what I use most. It currently consists of an Accuphase e480 integrated, an old tube DAC from 2014 or so (Line Magnetic LM-502CA), Lipinsky L707 monitors, and a very well integrated but old Velodyne sub. I am listening very near field which has always been my preference.

I was wondering 2 things:

1. I've been reading the DAC reviews. Is there a list somewhere on here of recommended components? If not, what is the "best" reasonably priced DAC recently based on measurements? Will a new DAC actually provide an audible improvement over my old tube DAC? I'm thinking of just getting the Accuphase D60 card that integrates into the option slot but I have not seen measurements or a review anywhere for it, but it seems not ridiculously priced from Japan.
2. Does anyone have a recommendation for vibration isolation for my components? They are on my desktop and the sub is underneath the desk and they vibrate audibly at 58-62 hz and it is driving my crazy. I was thinking about the IsoAcoustics Delos turntable isolation stand, which is the right size but quite expensive.