• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

How to do EQ right?

alaios

So I am very new to this. I am listening to relatively low volumes and I have tried for the first time turning in my Wiim streamer the EQ option and I picked the loudness setting. I know that this is not the "ideal" implementation as the EQ applied need to change with the volume levels buts still. The difference is huge for me. The sound becomes with less volume more spatial more rich, more wonderful.

1. If then EQ is that important why we do not like bass and treble knobs on integrated amps?
2. Do we assume that now in my Wiim I have turned EQ on the "performance-quality" of the whole system has dropped?

Regards,
Alex

staticV3

Master Contributor
1. If then EQ is that important why we do not like bass and treble knobs on integrated amps?
They're imprecise and obscure in their effect.
2. Do we assume that now in my Wiim I have turned EQ on the "performance-quality" of the whole system has dropped?
No. Frequency response is the most important aspect of any system and by far the most audible.
Even if fixing the frequency response came with a slight penalty to distortion, noise, phase, etc, I would still consider the corrected system more performant.

OP
A

alaios

Okay so then:
-Bass and Treble have good motives, they are the good guys with good motivation but terrible skills :D
-I am asking relating the frequency response since many devices have this "direct sound mode" that they skipp any preprocessing stage

radix

Major Contributor