• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

how to choose an amplifier

TSK

Newbie here. Setting up a home system using two vintage 6ohm 275 watt ESS speakers. Will use an unpowered mixer to manage turntable, TV, karaoke, and drunk jam sessions. How do I choose an amp for all this? I see $100 amps that advertise a thousand watts, and $1000 amps that advertise 50 or 60 watts. What can I get for a couple hundred dollars?

oceansize

Forum Donor
You need to be a lot more specific about what you're looking for. What size room are you trying to fill with sound? Your turntable - does it include a phono preamp? If not, you'll either need a seperate phono preamp or an amp with phono input. And what sort of cartridge are you using? Moving Magnet (MM) or Moving Coil (MC)? I'm going to guess MM is the more likely, but you need to be aware of the difference. And what do you mean by drunk jam sessions? 6 Ohm speakers shouldn't be difficult to drive, so you have a wide choice of amps to use. Have you considered second hand? What's available locally?

Joe Smith

Major Contributor
Good candidate is probably a Hypex Class D amp from one of the US builders (Buckeye/VSV), but expect to pay more like $700-800 for enough power w/ headroom for your speakers.

The alternative would be restored vintage class AB amps, but with proper restoration, probably in that same ballpark.

If you aren't going to run them super loud and in a large room, there might be some 100 -150 wpc integrated amps or AV amps that could be used...

Mr. Widget

Major Contributor
Forum Donor