• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help for selecting passive bookshelf speakers and more

great04

Hi,

Newbie here and looking for some advices for upgrading my 2.1 stereo system. I learned a lot from Amir's tutorials and others' posts. Wonderful forum here!

Current system: a pair of KEF Q150, Sony STR-DH190 power amp, Bluesound Node 2i, and RSL Speedwoofer 10S MKII. (I am considering to keep the last 2 items.) Mostly listen to classical, jazz and some electronic music, as well as watching TV. So, cannot have a noticeable delay of sound. Current system doesn't have the issue. Room setup is not good: 13' x 17' x 9', no acoustic treatment.

Below are some selections I have mind. I am also open to suggestions to other ways of putting together the system. Overall budget is $2500 to $3000.

Passive speakers

1. Ascend Acoustics SIERRA-LX ($1500), Ascend Acoustics Sierra 1 V2 ($1000). It is hard for me to tell how much better LX is, based on P.S. Does anyone have experiences listening to them?
  2. These were what I found on ASR's recommendation list that fit my budget. Did I miss some other applicable selections?

Power Amplifiers​

1. Choosing between Topping PA5, PA7 and Topping LA90 discrete. Is PA5 sufficient for the system?
  2. LA90 discrete is possibly beyond my budget, depending on speaker cost. Where is the better place to spend the $400 to $500, the speakers or amp?

DAC​

1. miniDSP Flex (balanced). This is one of few that provides 2.1 output. DAC in it seems good enough that I don't plan to buy a standalone DAC right now.