• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

How do I know the max volume out of my amp?

shatteredphone

Hi all,

First of all, sorry if this is a noob question - I'm really new to all this audio system things.

I've bought a Crown XLS 1502 and a pair of JBL Control 1 Pros. Now, the power output from the amp is 525W and the speakers operate at 150W - I know the amp is overkill but my intention is to use it with more powerful speakers in the future. Following this, I have a couple of questions:

- Both power ratings (525W and 150W) refer to continuous/RMS power, right?
- How much should I set the volume knob in the amp in order not to blow the speakers? About a third?
- Would I benefit from buying a limiter or anything like that? Seeing the prices, seems a little bit excessive.
- Should I buy any other components like a pre-amp or similar?
- Any other advice?

Thanks in advance for the help.

antcollinet

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Hi all,

First of all, sorry if this is a noob question - I'm really new to all this audio system things.

I've bought a Crown XLS 1502 and a pair of JBL Control 1 Pros. Now, the power output from the amp is 525W and the speakers operate at 150W - I know the amp is overkill but my intention is to use it with more powerful speakers in the future. Following this, I have a couple of questions:

- How much should I set the volume knob in the amp in order not to blow the speakers? About a third?
- Would I benefit from buying a limiter or anything like that? Seeing the prices, seems a little bit excessive.
- Any other advice?

Hi

What is your input to the amp?

OP
S

shatteredphone

Hi

What is your input to the amp?
Hi!

Thanks for the reply.