• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Dongle dac/amp set at max volume and use software volume control?

dlovesmusic

Hi everyone, I am relatively new at usb dongle dac/amp with iem.

Just got a hidizs s9 pro plus Martha for a pair of Zero:Red.

Would like to know if there’s any pros or cons to setting the Martha volume to max and using my playback software to adjust volume?

I always use digital volume control for my dac directly to power amp in a speaker system but obviously with a dongle dac/amp it has the amp in the chain

Thanks

Brian Hall

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Hi everyone, I am relatively new at usb dongle dac/amp with iem.

Just got a hidizs s9 pro plus Martha for a pair of Zero:Red.

Would like to know if there’s any pros or cons to setting the Martha volume to max and using my playback software to adjust volume?

I always use digital volume control for my dac directly to power amp in a speaker system but obviously with a dongle dac/amp it has the amp in the chain

Thanks

Since the dongle DAC gets power from your phone or tablet, leaving it on max volume will drain your battery faster. Will that be an issue?

OP
D

dlovesmusic

Since the dongle DAC gets power from your phone or tablet, leaving it on max volume will drain your battery faster. Will that be an issue?
Nope that would not be an issue for me. This will be used in a work desktop setup. A rpi5 running hqplayer out to the Martha to the Zero:Red. Will distortion start kicking in with the Martha amp set at max volume?

Brian Hall

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor