• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help with deciding subwoofer design.

Sebr023

IMG_2613.jpeg
Hi all!

I’ve been refered to this forum for my question.

I’ll try to make it short and as precise as I can.

and please don't be too harsh, its my first subwoofer design. so please, haha be kind! I'm still learning.

- I’m building a subwoofer coffee table.
I’ve discuss many design possibilities with my wife. She agreed on a table.

The design discussion included things like:
  • - under the couch: cant really do it because couch is only 4in off the ground.
  • - under the tv cabinet: she didn’t like it because the floating effect of the cabinet.
  • - on each side of cabinet: she didn’t like it either.
  • - behind the couch: not enough space to put a subwoofer, couch is already 6in forward to accommodate a table, and we could not forward it anymore.

- I already have (2) Dayton audio UM-15 to go

- I have 2 behringer inuke6000dsp to power the 2 UM-15

- pannels are already cut, but I’m willing to make (minor) modification to the box

- pannels are Baltic birch plywood. Bracing are mdf. And grille for design #1 is a mix of mdf and BB plywood.

- I don’t want to have visible hardware once the grille is removed.

- I’m working with ~ 135 liter of internal volume. As design #1 (facing outward) measurement of the table are : 16.5x16.5x40in outside. Inside measurement would be 15x15x37in.

- living room is ~ 10x 10, but is open on kitchen and hallway, which total gives a 18x30ft room.

- subwoofer will sit at ~ 16in from the wall on one side, and ~ 25ft of the next parallel wall. But will be in the “centre of the living room” (replacing the round coffee table in the picture)