• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help me identify capacitor + HDMI ESD protection question

MCH

Major Contributor
Hi,
I am trying to reverse engineer a PCB and it has a few of these parts labelled as capacitors. I am a complete noob and i have never seen capacitors like this. The picture is not very good but they are green with something like a circle in the middle and look more like LEDs or diodes.

1688829198115.png

I have spent quite some time in google but i have not find anything similar. The closest are SMD film capacitors, but the ones i have seen always have a line pattern, not this circular inner shape.

My multimeter can measure down to at least 100 nF without problem but doesn't see these ones, they must have a very low capacitance.
They are part of a 5V to 1.8V circuit within the board, something like this:

1688829782739.png

the capacitor in question is the one with the question mark.

Last edited:

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
Since you'll also need to identify the chip, check the manufacturer's datasheet for the recommended circuit design. (Or choose a different chip and don't bother exactly-duplicating the existing design.)

It's on the 5V input so the value isn't that critical. (It's not part of a tuned filter or part of the oscillator.)

Electrolytic capacitors don't "act like" capacitors at high frequencies so it's common to put a ceramic capacitor in parallel with the electrolytic. 0.1uF should be fine.

Or if it's REALLY for ESD protection it could be a transorb.

Were you able to identify the inductor?

OP
M

MCH

Major Contributor
Thanks dvddoug.