• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Enough power?

alaios

escape2

Addicted to Fun and Learning
So your Denon is 2x30W, and the Leak is 2 x 45W (8ohm)/2x65W (4ohm), so what's the problem?

OP
A

alaios

Any problems with that? The Leak amp will have a bit more power. If the Denon does well, the other one will as well.
My denon runs always at 25/60 power so it is somehow in the middle range.
What I have heard with amps is that they need to be pushed hard to stay on their linear range. I am not an expert though to judge what it means. I have also experienced the school of more power is better, this the reason I am asking

OP
A

alaios

So your Denon is 2x30W, and the Leak is 2 x 45W (8ohm)/2x65W (4ohm), so what's the problem?
That I might need much more power to keep the new amplifier "relaxed"

solderdude

Grand Contributor
The difference between 30W and 50W is just 2.2dB louder.
To get double the perceived loudness you need 10x more power so from 30W to 300W

When you start to hear distortion you are already severely clipping the amp (reached max output power), the volpot position does not say anything about the output power.

Last edited:
OP
A

alaios

correct, this is also my concern that I do not have a good understanding how much the all-in-one amplifier is being pushed

JSmith

Master Contributor
Speaker spec's suggest 20 - 100W of power and a 6 ohm nominal impedance, with a sensitivity (2.83V/1m) of 87dB.

It may be prudent to have a bit more power available for loud peaks though and to ensure the amp is not approaching clipping territory at any point. Especially if pushing it quite loud often.

If only ever listening at low or moderate volumes, your current amp is likely fine power wise.

JSmith

OP