• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Do I need an audio interface or a headphone amplifier?

Lizbeth T.J

Hey there!

About 8 months ago I started learning music production on my own and I decided to start buying some stuff to set up my home studio. At the moment I have a MIDI keyboard and a pair of Audio-Technica ATH-R70x headphones. The problem is that these headphones have an impedance of 470 ohms and unfortunately not every audio interface supports that level of power for them. I can't use studio monitors in my apartment as it's very small and there's always a lot of noise around so headphones are my only option right now.

However, the music that I'm interested in producing is electronic music and rap, which means that at the moment I use quite a lot of samples, synthesizers or sounds synthesized by myself. I don't need to record vocals or any acoustic instruments and if I need to I have access to a recording studio to record vocals. In this case, do I need an audio interface? Can I learn to mix using a headphone amplifier instead?

I was thinking of buying an RME Babyface Pro FS 24-channel audio interface but I don't think it's a good idea to have a 24-channel interface if I'm not going to record anything in my apartment. Also the guys at RME told me that the Babyface Pro FS is capable of handling the Audio-Technica ATH-R70x headphones but maybe not at full volume if I want to listen to them at full power. Instead they recommended their RME ADI-2 DAC FS 2-channel DA Converter headphone amplifier.

My options for a headphone amp are:

- RME ADI-2 DAC FS 2-channel DA Converter
- Little Labs Monotor 2-channel Headphone Amplifier
- Rupert Neve Designs RNHP 1-channel Precision Headphone Amplifier