• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Did my first ever audiogram with a hearing doctor, what to do with it ?

bensmir

Hello, context :
  • I am 29
  • I am a dentist (so I work with alot of noise)
  • Have earbuds on since 15 years, listening to music (currently using sony wf xm3 or bose quitconfort)
  • I compose orchestral music alot on my spare time (currently using beyerdynamic 990 pro 250 ohm)
  • I also have a little dip on 10k on the weber test // EDIT : It's at 1k not 10k
  • Doc said my hearing is fine, but I am in the lower limit of the average, so I should re check again in 3 years to compare
My question is, apart from protecting my ear at work, what can I do or should I do during my music production sessions ? Should I cut at 10k my headphones to protect this area from further damage ?
Obviously more frequent rest ...
One curious thing is I get fatigue faster on headphones than on earphones

1695910028360.png

Thanks

Last edited:

RayDunzl

Grand Contributor
Central Scrutinizer
Should I cut at 10k my headphones to protect this area from further damage ?

Opinion:

Your choice, but 10k in orchestral music is probably 20 to 30dB down (that's a lot) from the lower frequencies already.

Spectrum peaks (via RTA from CD) of the Redwood Symphony playing Stravinsky's Rite of Spring and Les Noces

1695911700204.png

Last edited:

Andrej

My understanding is that you need to consider (amplitude * duration) to evaluate what is damaging. So the best solutions will involve shortening exposures and/or lowering the loudness.

Music1969

Major Contributor
This is tricky.

Because you need to be able to hear patient and/or staff, evening during noisy drilling.