• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DACs with enough voltage for Power amplifiers - what should I be looking for?

What DAC's (under $700) have enough voltage to act as a pre-amp for a power amplifier? Volume control is likely a must unless I add one separately.

I'm posting this in the newbie forum because I'm a newbie and there are parts of this question that I don't understand - otherwise, I'd just go and look them up. Is it just as simple as matching the input sensitivity of an amplifier to the "maximum output" of a DAC? Where and how does impedance factor in? What part of the spec sheets for DACs or Amplifiers should I be looking at? For example, Schiit Bifrost says "Maximum Output: 2.0V RMS single-ended and 4.0V RMS balanced",

For clarification, I'm talking about a DAC that could power a powered amplifier meant for a speaker, not headphones. I'm looking to bypass the pre-amp and go direct from DAC to Amplifier.