• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DAC advice

Zeek

I am seeking a decent DAC to play on my hifi system (with a Rotel RA-1060 amp) the numerous music files currently sitting on my laptop (which are mostly mp3s at 320kbps, and may increasingly skew toward flac) .
I am a total novice to DACs, not very technically knowledgeable on audio equipment, and looking for an 'off-the-shelf' solution (vs any building/assembly I'd have to do). I've read a number of other posts on this board but haven't found the answer to my questions.
I'd be _extremely grateful_ for your advice (geared at my novice level ;-) )

My questions are:
1- What are my options for playing the files on the DAC? (eg connecting computer to DAC via cable, connecting them via wifi, using Bluetooth from Android smartphone, ... ??) And what (gear, software...) would would I need to make wifi or Bluetooth work?
2- Is it possible to store the files on either the DAC or some network that the DAC can access? What is needed to make this work?
3- What DAC would you recommend for my situation? Looking to spend at most 400-500 USD (ideally less) and good quality (for my parameters). I've seen mention of the Cambridge MagicPlus, Topping D50S, SONCOZ LA-QXD1, SMSL M500

Sorry for the total beginner questions and thanks for your indulgence and help - this is a whole new world for me...
Happy to be directed to good articles or websites for Q 1 and 2 if easier.

RickSanchez

Major Contributor
Cartographer
Welcome to ASR. Some quick answers to get you started ...