• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

combining 2 audio source win and mac to a single monitor speaker?

Hi all, i am not so sure how to setup this. Previously, i did brought an xlr mic and this leads me to get an audio interface scarlet solo 3rd gen. After that i brought a studio monitor presonus eris 8xt (2 of them). My current setup is on macbook m2 now and i would like to add my windows machine into sharing the studio monitor instead of replugging them every single time.

i notice that my scarlet solo will not be able to help in this case. The LINE IN infront of the solo is only mono if not mistake (please bare with me since i am new to this audio stuff).

i need some advice in how to setup both machine to share/use one pair of the studio monitor i am having now. I was thinking a mixer can help but i still prefer some audio interfaces because no need to plug in extra power cord.

since if am changing my scarlet solo, i was looking at motu m2, but i am not sure if the front xlr combo jack can plug in a trs line in cable that converts from a stereo 3.5mm from my pc audio port which is from the motherboard itself.

Zek

Major Contributor
What do you actually want to connect?
There are 3 connectors on the speakers and you can connect up to 3 different devices.
ERIS%20E8XT%20rear.jpg

OP
I
What do you actually want to connect?
There are 3 connectors on the speakers and you can connect up to 3 different devices.
ERIS%20E8XT%20rear.jpg
i am using the XLR port now, does this means that behind my speaker can use the TRS at the same time as using the XLR port as well? directly from 3.5mm and split to 2x TRS input?

Zek

Major Contributor
You can use a 3.5mm to 2 RCA cable as well.

OP
I