• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Budget Amp for Hifiman HE400SE

Majesthion

Hi guys. I just bought a used Hifiman HE400SE (My first planars) for 115$. New ones sold for 70$. I live in Turkey. Sadly everything is expensive here. My computer's audio power is almost okay for using it without EQ. But as soon as I apply -9 db preamp. It's getting far below my usual listening levels.

We don't have many options here. So far the options are

Douk Audio U3 = 52.50$
Douk Audio U5 = 54.50$ (Surprisingly almost same price as U3)
Used Fiio E10K Olympus 2 = 62$ (110$ for new ones)
Fosi Audio K5 Pro = 54$

Apple dongle = 10$

I'm new to this stuff. Used headphone power calculator to check required power. The calculator says I need 708mw/4.21v/168.3mA power to drive HE400SE after applying -9.5db preamp.

Is U5 better than U3? It doesn't have many reviews on the internet like U3. Also on Douk's website, they say "input over 5V will result in damage." is that mean u5 is pickier than the u3 when it comes to adapters?

solderdude

Grand Contributor
U5 is balanced U3 is not.
You will need different cables and balanced DAC for U5.

U3 will be fine for for HE400SE when fed with a power supply between 12 and 20VDC.

The U5 can ONLY be fed with a 5V DC power supply.

Fosi Audio K5 Pro is handy when you also need a mic and only have USB connection.

OP
Majesthion

Majesthion

Thanks for the info. One more thing tho. If I choose the Apple dongle as DAC. My motherboard doesn't have a Type-C port. Is it okay to use USB 3 to Type-C adapter?

FreakyKiwi