• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Advice Needed with Denon 1700NE

Bart1927

Since my old amplifier (actually, it's a 5 channel AVR, but I'm only using the 2 front channels) has been giving me some issues, I decided to try out some new amps. I must admit I'm a bit of a newbie on the subject, so there's bound to be stuff that I don't understand correctly.

The first amp I tried out at home was a Denon 1700NE. Compared to my old amp (a Cambridge Audio 351R) it has a lot more power. The Cambridge is rated at 70 W @ 8 Ohms (2 channels driven) and there's no rating at 4 Ohm. Actually, the manual specifically instructs to use only 8 Ohm speakers. However, I did contact the manufacturer and they told me that using 2 4 Ohm front speakers wouldn't be a problem, as long as I didn't use 5 of them.

The Denon is also rated at 70W per channel at 8 Ohms (just like the Cambridge), but at a whopping 2x140W @ 4 Ohms,

My speakers are a pair of Dynaudio 2/7. They are 4 Ohm and have a sensitivity of 86dB. From what I've read they are considered a little insensitive, hard to drive, and need a powerful amp.