• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping A90 Headphone Amplifier Review

seanca

Is written in the specs as input sensitivity

Depending on which gain your on
L - 9.5 Vrms
M - 8.8 Vrms
H - 2.9 Vrms

Ok, thanks! Newbie here so didn’t know the terminology. What would happen if the input into the A90 went above those numbers? Would it damage it?

Reactions: Ddd

Ddd

Ok, thanks! Newbie here so didn’t know the terminology. What would happen if the input into the A90 went above those numbers? Would it damage it?
Haha nope won't damage it. The results will be clipped or distorted sound at the listener end haha.

seanca

Haha nope won't damage it. The results will be clipped or distorted sound at the listener end haha.
I thought “clipping” could damage gear? Or am I thinking of headphones? (or am I just wrong again haha)

Ddd

I thought “clipping” could damage gear? Or am I thinking of headphones? (or am I just wrong again haha)
Haha from my experience the clipping are produce from the amplifier. The headphone, not so much. But it can goes either way. Either the headphone distort first, or the amplifier clips first. The headphone just present it to you. Haha. But whether long term clipping an amplifier will damage it or not, I can't guarantee. Depends on the amplifier design I guess? Headphone, as long as it can still withstand the power of the amplifier output, it should be fine, it will just present to you the sound of clip or distortion.

shfter