• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What is the upgrade path for a D30?

aoaaron

Hey, I have my topping D30 and Atom now.

My question was though, and what price point so I get BETTER performance aka say if i I wanted to upgrade?

I'm new to this whole audio stuff and I realise now I really do enjoy it so I'm deliberating over whether I do return my D30 and get a higher end DAC or leave it.

Shadrach

Addicted to Fun and Learning
The Atom is about as good as it gets regarding audibility. You could spend thousands and not get any real improvement in performance. I realise it's hard to believe a small box for around $100 performs in the audible range as well as anything else on the market.
The same can be said regarding the D30.
In brief there is no upgrade path from your current equipment.
You could get improved conections, better looking boxes, maybe even slightly better specifications, but if it sounds any better it's because of what goes on in your brain and not what goes on in the electronics.

daftcombo

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
The question to ask is: what are your headphones?

M00ndancer

Forum Donor
Better headphones

Frank Dernie

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I agree with others.You will get no sound quality improvement by changing DAC or headphone amp. If you want better sound quality go somewhere where you can audition lots of headphones.

LTig

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Hey, I have my topping D30 and Atom now.

My question was though, and what price point so I get BETTER performance aka say if i I wanted to upgrade?

I'm new to this whole audio stuff and I realise now I really do enjoy it so I'm deliberating over whether I do return my D30 and get a higher end DAC or leave it.