• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

SOTA Pyxi Phono Stage Review

Rate this phono stage:

• 1. Poor (headless panther)

Votes: 10 8.3%
  • 2. Not terrible (postman panther)

Votes: 24 20.0%
  • 3. Fine (happy panther)

Votes: 67 55.8%
  • 4. Great (golfing panther)

Votes: 19 15.8%

• Total voters

pma

Major Contributor
Incidentally, I spent most of the summer of 1971 at the Decca pressing plant in New Malden. At time they were indeed using Neumann Lathes and had the "elliptic" filter for the bass to suppress vertical modulation in place. I had, amongst other "gopher" jobs (I was a student at Imperial College and I begged someone I knew at Decca to just give me a job- any job because I was so in love with their records) the task of bringing the stampers to the pressing area. I also participated in the test pressing evaluations, and occasionally in comparison listening between the LPs and the master tapes.

This reminds me my own student story, I spent most of summer of 1977 at Supraphon recording studios of classical music and participated in several very interesting recording sessions with Czech philharmonic orchestras, with Miloslav Kulhan as a recording engineer. This will never be forgotten by myself.

AES awards:
Miloslav M. KulhanCitation2001in recognition of outstanding contributions to the recording industry and particularly the promotion of the AES in the Czech Republic.

.... and my lecturer in electro-acoustics at the Czech Technical University (CVUT) was another awarded member, professor Josef Merhaut

Josef MerhautFellowship2001in recognition of outstanding contributions in the fields of acoustics and electroacoustics.

wynpalmer

Technical Expert