• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Room correction for Tidal through computer to DAC without Roon or DSP hardware?

JensenW

Hello ASR friends,

I am completely new to room correction but I understand it is perhaps the single most important thing that will drastically improve sound quality a HiFi system.

My setup is just a computer (Windows OS) sending Tidal or files from its internal harddisk to my DAC and then the amp and speakers.

The easiest option to do room correction is surely to insert a MiniDSP SHD Studio (version without DAC chip) between my computer and the DAC, but is there a way I could use REW on Windows and make Tidal music could go through room correction before being sent to the DAC? This could save 900 dollars and one less component in the chain too if this could be done without too much difficulty.

Thanks!

Music1969

Major Contributor
The easiest option to do room correction is surely to insert a MiniDSP SHD Studio (version without DAC chip) between my computer and the DAC, but is there a way I could use REW on Windows and make Tidal music could go through room correction before being sent to the DAC? This could save 900 dollars and one less component in the chain too if this could be done without too much difficulty.

Don't need to spend $900. Less for this model:

index.php

OP
J

JensenW

Don't need to spend $900. Less for this model:

index.php
Thanks.
Just did some calculation. The mic and Dircac license is not included so has to be added. The result is about 750 usd. Still better than 949!

I think I can connect it to the computer via USB and to my CD transport via Coaxial here

Last edited:

Music1969

Major Contributor