• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Review and Measurements of Massdrop THX AAA 789 Amp

Headphonaholic

Monoprice has posted some measurements in a ZIP file at the bottom of the product page if you're curious
I'm no expert, but it looks reasonable at least, right?

Oh nice! I wish there was some explanations with the measurements... maybe Amir can take a look for us :) It looks good for sure but context and explanations would be helpful for those of us that are still learning how to read measurements.

Veri

Master Contributor
What is intriguing about the monoprice dac: analog inputs get converted to digital with an ADC, so that EQ/surround etc, sound processing is available.

I really wonder how that will impact final performance... seems kind of strange to me that said processing could not simply be done in analog domain, rather than going input>adc>processing>dac... :|

badboygolf16v

Forum Donor
A well implemented ADC will be transparent (and AKM have an excellent reputation for ADC chips.) It's preferable to do this kind of processing in DSP: cheaper, more flexible and potentially better.

Veri

Master Contributor
A well implemented ADC will be transparent (and AKM have an excellent reputation for ADC chips.) It's preferable to do this kind of processing in DSP: cheaper, more flexible and potentially better.

Well that's a relief :)

derp1n

rajapruk

Forum Donor
...are you joking?

No. Did you think it was funny?

Analog in vs digital in on my DBX 4820 was a subjective difference (and analog levels was right). And the 4820 is well implemented as far as I know. Thats why I am not sure about it. I try to avoid unnecessary AD or DA conversions.

pos

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor