• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Which material to use in acoustic panels?

renemartin

Hi, I want to make 4 DIY acoustic panels.
I've read on reddit that the important thing is the thickness of the material, not have to worry about material type itself.

But I have no experience, what should i choose?
I like that polyester thing or rockwool 'cause of the thickness they provide. More leaned toward polyester 'cause less harmful then rockwool I guess.

What y'all think? Thanks

type: Molded foam
panel size: 100x50x14 cm
panel price: 45€

type: polyester
panel size: 100x50x12 cm (or can be 100x50x15 if i take one more)
panel price: 25€ (or 31€)

type: acoustic foam
panel size: 100x50x12 cm
panel price: 30€

type: rockwool
panel size: 100x50x12 cm (or 100x50x16)
panel price: 20€ (or 30€ https://www.baustore.sk/tepelna-izo...8axl_JFZ0LcJixV6t4QipFpaND80deMRoCmcEQAvD_BwE)

Ciobi69

Hi, I want to make 4 DIY acoustic panels.
I've read on reddit that the important thing is the thickness of the material, not have to worry about material type itself.

I like that polyester thing or rockwool 'cause of the thickness they provide. More leaned toward polyester 'cause less harmful then rockwool I guess.

What y'all think? Thanks

type: Molded foam
panel size: 100x50x14 cm
panel price: 45€

type: polyester
panel size: 100x50x12 cm (or can be 100x50x15 if i take one more)
panel price: 25€ (or 31€)

type: acoustic foam
panel size: 100x50x12 cm
panel price: 30€

type: rockwool
panel size: 100x50x12 cm (or 100x50x16)
panel price: 20€ (or 30€ https://www.baustore.sk/tepelna-izo...8axl_JFZ0LcJixV6t4QipFpaND80deMRoCmcEQAvD_BwE)
rockwool

harleydave