• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What do you recommend changing in my audio system?

Adriano

Audio.jpg
Hi, I have no experience, but I have good ears. ;) I use the sound system to watch my documentaries. I do the video editing myself and there is a narrative voice in all of them. My audio system includes 2 tweeters, a central speaker (for vocals), a subwoofer and 2 rear speakers (which cannot be seen in the photo). I've marked with arrows the speakers I'm using and the Onkyo amplifier. My Bose audio system is 20 years old but I replaced the central speaker about 10 years ago and it cost me 100 euros. Unfortunately when I listen to my documentaries, the voice is not good. Yet if I listen to it with 2 cheap studio speakers, I hear an excellent voice because it is recorded with a mic. professional and by a professional speaker. I had thought about removing ONLY the central speaker and buying two studio speakers and leaving everything else unchanged. What do you think. Maybe I said something rubbish, but I'm only interested in hearing a good voice mixed with background music, but with this system I don't hear it well. But I'm satisfied with the music that comes out. What do you recommend me to do? I have a limited budget. Thanks for some info.

staticV3

Master Contributor
What is your budget and what country are you in?

OP
A

Adriano

My budget is low, it is around 100 euro, I live in Italy.

staticV3

Master Contributor
What I'd do:
-get rid of the Bose tweeter things
-cover the stone floor with a thick carpet
-buy some bookshelf speakers or studio monitors and put them on floor stands to get the tweeters to ear height. Alternatively, buy some floorstanders (no stand required).