• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Ummm.. Yeah. MiniDSP. Live Sound

CountMackula

Ive been looking at MiniDSP. Im pretty sure you all have heard of it (thanks for reviewing the 2x4 HD and SHD)

Im a noob. Annually I use our PA equipment to “run sound” for a local dance studio’s recital. Probably for over 15 years. Skipping the history, current setup I use is:
Laptop with music. Who knows what format they were in originally but the director gives them to me in mp3 usually and normalizes them.

To avoid having to raise and lower volumes during the shows, I usually drop them into PreSonus StudioOne 3 Pro and re mixdown the songs individually with compressor and my ears on my Mackie HR824s to achieve more consistent volume levels. Im sure readers here are already cringing.. believe me the quality of these tracks can be.. rough, to state politely.

Historically I ran headphone jack to RCA into an Allen and Heath mixer (most years i have to provide wireless microphones for a few singers) but beginning last year we have adde a Behringer X-Air 18 to our setup. This outputs via long XLRs to a rack mount crossover (thats old with dirty pots and i hate it)

Tip ring sleeve 1/4” cables then go to our QSC 2450s that each run our mains and a QSC 5050 that runs one or two 18” subs.

So, a couple of questions and ponderings. I’d be curious how you'd test the Behringer X-Air18 for quality and the results.

I’ve read comments that the 2x4 and 2x4 HD can have noise issues. Keeping in mind that im often playing back mp3s through a bunch of cable types running through multiple equipments and the audiences and directors are already content with the quality. What sort of noise and artifacts are people talking about?