• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Tube lifespan in a tube chip-amp?

tomkatt

Just curious, what's the lifespan of a tube before I should replace it? And are there any indications when a tube should be replaced? I've been using an Aiyima T9 for daily listening for the last nine months and not sure at what point the tubes may need replacing, since it doesn't work without them. I assume it's in the range of several years, but I honestly don't know, never owned a tube amp before.

Keith_W

Major Contributor
A typical valve will last between 5,000 - 20,000 hours. Factors that shorten the lifespan of the tube may include improper manufacturing, turning it on and off very often, and overdriving the valve. If the valve is improperly manufactured, it may leak vacuum. The barium/magnesium getter (the silver flash on the inside of the tube) absorbs air molecules and helps mitigate this. If it loses vacuum you will see that the getter will oxidize - it won't be shiny silver any more, and it may turn white.

Symptoms of a dead or dying tube: a crackly, hissy sound from your speakers, one tube glowing dimmer or brighter than the other, and low volume. If you have a non-auto biasing amp (i.e. you bias the valves with a meter), you may notice that you have to keep increasing the voltage to re-bias the amp.

The only objective way to find out if a tube that does not manifest those symptoms is dying is to use a tube tester. It is likely that nobody you know owns one, so you have to seek out an audio engineer who is able to test tubes for you.

JeffS7444

Major Contributor
Forum Donor