• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

TOPPING NX4 DSD (Long Term Usage Notes)

shanecoughlan

Forum Donor
First of all, a big thank you to @JohnYang1997 and everyone associated with Topping for making a product that is affordable, fully featured and well-built. Much appreciated.

I have been using this DAC for about two years now (pandemic time flies) and I have found it to be useful when paired with good headphones. I do not want to overplay the jump in fidelity from Apple 3.5mm USB or Lightning converters with their built in DAC (IIRC @amirm has done some measurements and they perform really well), but the NX4 DSD brings great support for digital sources of any resolution and plays them well. I feel confident that I can use whatever source I want and hear whatever was intended in the recording. My sources of failure will be my choice of headphones or (more likely) my ears.

Pulling back from detailed, perfect recordings, I also like the results with my Planar Magnetic earphones while watching movies on the iPad Pro or MacBook Pro around the house, in coffeeshops or chilling in my car after a hike. Yes, I know. Streaming Netflix is not really testing either sound device. But I seek immersive sound experiences and this DAC helps deliver my own 12.9” movie theatre. It adds a little extra joy to the world.

I wanted to flag build quality as a positive for this portable DAC. I must be honest and confess I have not treated it gently, instead regarding it as part of my portable audio stuff. The only item I was concerned about is that after two years of (ab)use is that I noticed my audio stream occasionally auto-pauses due to a bad connection on the MicroUSB to USB-C path.