• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

SME M2-9R vs Jelco TK-950S

DP80

Sorry, I'm an electrical engineer, not competent to comment. My statics/dynamics courses were few and long ago. I could speculate but am betting someone else on ASR can do much better than that... All I recall is that knife-edge bearings had wear and stability problems, and the whole dynamic tonearm concept never seemed to really pan out in the real world (just wasn't effective). But those are maybe 30-year-old memories of articles, not any personal analysis, so could well be wrong.
Am a materials scientist and I would think that the advances in CNC controlled machine tools and analytical tools has the largest effect in today's bearings of all sorts. Both have led to the optimization of materials and machining. Jelco makes a point of stating that their knife-edge bearings are fitting by hand, which seems to fly in the face of many advances. That said, I'm giving some serious consideration to a TK-850L.

OP
watchnerd

watchnerd

Grand Contributor
Am a materials scientist and I would think that the advances in CNC controlled machine tools and analytical tools has the largest effect in today's bearings of all sorts. Both have led to the optimization of materials and machining. Jelco makes a point of stating that their knife-edge bearings are fitting by hand, which seems to fly in the face of many advances. That said, I'm giving some serious consideration to a TK-850L.

I ended evaluating both the M2-9R and TK-950S (which uses knife edge plus springs).